Ben Edwards, Kerstin Thompson and Jonas Pettersson are Dezeen Awards 2024 judges

Architects Kerstin Thompson and Ben Edwards, designer Jonas Pettersson, sustainable developer Jonathan Smales and design entrepreneurs Odile Hainaut and Claire Pijoulat have joined as Dezeen Awards 2024 judges.

Dezeen Awards 2024 in partnership with Bentley is still open for entries. Did you miss last week’s deadline? Don’t worry, you have three more days to submit your entries before the late entry deadline on 6 June at 23:59 London time!

Now in its seventh year, the programme has become the ultimate accolade for architects and designers everywhere, with winners selected by a prestigious panel of international judges.

Read on to learn more about the latest judges joining this year’s judging panel:

Ben Edwards founded the innovative Studio Edwards in 2016

Edwards is the founder of Australian architecture practice Studio Edwards and will be joining White Arkitekter’s Alexandra Hagen on our architecture judging panel.

In 2011 Edwards won the Australian National Interior Design Excellence Award for projects including the Arnsdorf store and Lightbox House. In recognition of the dual-purpose Artist Carpark Studio, he also won the 2012 Institute of Architects Award while the Finesse shoe store in Melbourne won the National Australian Interior Design Award and was longlisted in Dezeen Awards 2023.

Other projects by Studio Edwards include House 28, a micro-hotel made from shipping containers and a zero-waste workspace in Melbourne made from recycled and off-the-shelf materials.

Jonas Petersson sq
Jonas Pettersson co-founded the industrial design company in 2005

Pettersson is the co-founder of Swedish industrial design studio Form Us With Love (FUWL) and will be joining Mae-Ling Lokko on this year’s sustainability jury.

FUWL believe that design is a force for good that can create change in the world, across people, business and the environment.

The practice also serves as a think tank for some of the world’s most iconic brands, including IKEA, BAUX, Muuto, Samsung and +Halle.

For the 2024 Stockholm design week FUWL transformed the front of their office into an experimental pop-up workspace called Testing Grounds.

Kerstin Thompson sq
Kerstin Thompson founded Kerstin Thompson Architects in Melbourne, 1994

Thompson is the founding principal of Australian architecture practice Kerstin Thompson Architects (KTA) and will sit on our architecture jury.

In recognition of her practices’ contribution to the profession Thompson was awarded a Life Fellow by the Australian Institute of Architects in 2017, a Member of the Order of Australia in 2022 and the Australian Institute of Architects Gold Medal in 2023.

Projects of KTA include the Bundanon Art Museum which was awarded Australia’s highest accolade for public architecture and an underground tasting room at an Australian winery.

Jonathan Smales sq
Jonathan Smales and Human Nature are designing and building leading sustainable developments

Smales is founder and CEO of sustainable development foundation Human Nature and will sit on our sustainability jury.

A former director and international trustee of Greenpeace, Smales sees development as a powerful pathway to a sustainable future.

His flagship project The Phoenix has recently received planning approval to transform a former industrial site in Lewes into the most sustainable neighbourhood in the UK, according to Human Nature.

The Phoenix will be powered by renewable energy and abundantly green, with an emphasis on shared courtyards and public space.

Odile Hainaut and Claire Pijoulat sq
Odile Hainaut and Claire Pijoulat launched WantedDesign in 2011

Hainaut and Pijoulat are the co-founders of global design platform WantedDesign and current brand directors of the International Contemporary furniture Fair (ICFF) and will be joining our design jury.

In 2018 the pair were honoured with the Chevalier of the Order of Arts and Letters, a title granted by the French Minister of Culture.

WantedDesign is a year-long international creative-platform that brings together the global design community. As well as a design fair it has a design school program, an international design residency and a permanent design store at Industry City in Brooklyn, a historic intermodal shipping, warehousing and manufacturing complex.

Three days left until entries close!

Dezeen Awards 2024 is open for entries. Log in or create an account to start your entries. Enter by 23:59 London time on 6 June for your final chance to enter. Don’t miss out!

Click here for more information about Dezeen Awards and subscribe to our newsletter for the latest news. Plus you can always drop us a line at [email protected] if you have any questions.

Dezeen Awards 2024 in partnership with Bentley

Dezeen Awards is the ultimate accolade for architects and designers across the globe. The seventh edition of the annual awards programme is in partnership with Bentley as part of a wider collaboration to inspire, support and champion design excellence and showcase innovation that creates a better and more sustainable world. This ambition complements Bentley’s architecture and design business initiatives, including the Bentley Home range of furnishings and real estate projects around the world.

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top